Which Phase of Divorce Recovery Are You In?

Divorce Recovery

Divorce sucks! It’s that simple. But experiencing each phase of the divorce recovery process is crucial for total healing. You can’t skip to the last chapter. You have to read it all the way through.

Here are the phases:

  • denial
  • sadness
  • anger,
  • “Now What?”
  • regroup,
  • reinvention and
  • happiness!

The first three happen in autopilot. The fourth one seems to last forever, and includes some of the fifth one. But the last two can actually be fun! Seriously!

The reinvention phase gives you the opportunity to literally start over. Some of you like the career you’ve established up to this point. If it hasn’t suffered from what you’ve been through, use this renewed energy to take it to the next level.

But if you are ready for a clean slate to draw on, now’s the time. The world usually gives you a pass then divorce is the cause of your taking a new path. And chances are you are ready for something completely different. Now’s the time to go to culinary school, move to another country to “teach” your former vocation, be an organic farmer instead of a lawyer.

The reinvention phase is when you have to be honest with yourself, though. Considering how your life has changed, and how your priorities have changed, now is the perfect time to reassess what is still important to you, and what isn’t anymore. If you aren’t truthful with yourself now, you will be setting yourself up for more misery. Don’t do it! It’s a trap!

What are you passionate about now? Would that make you excited to get out of bed every morning? Blur the line between job and joy?

The answer to that, my friend, is what the reinvention phase is all about. If you can figure out how to make a living from your passion, you’ve won! You will have made your divorce the best thing that ever happened to you! Starting over can be fun and exciting. Your life lessons can be adapted to almost any situation. You are already starting out a step ahead because now you know precious this new beginning really is. It’s your turn! You get a do-over!

For the next couple of weeks I’m going to show you how I am a walking testament to my SELFISH philosophy. Go back to the post that explains the acronym for SELFISH. Read some of the other posts that interest you. It will all make sense as you read of my journey, and where I am now.

Until next time,

Happy Living!





Speak Your Mind